In many countries, a lot of food is wasted. Why do people waste food? How can we reduce the amount of food waste?

Wasting food is one of the biggest issues nowadays, especially for developing countries such as America and Europe. The reasons why people waste food as well as the solutions of this phenomenon will be discussed in this essay. There are several reasons behind this behaviour, the action of wasting food, and one of them might be the high standards of lifestyle which make people in the condition to take food for granted. The huge amount of food everywhere in supermarkets, fast foods, restaurants might put people in the position of thinking that they can eat anything, anytime, anywhere and are not worried of remaining without it. Food is always available and when it is too much people think that they are allowed to waste it because there is not shortage of it. The higher standar of lifestyle is letting people to waste the food they have without even worrying. Secondly, people are not enough educated on this topic and are not aware of what they are doing by wasting food. To give an example in Italy, children at school, from an early age are allowed to bring at school snacks, event though there is already some fresh food waiting for them. After some lessons, they have a break to eat and recharge themselves, and most of them waste the food given by the school due to the fact that parents have already given them some snacks. Children are taught indirectly to waste the food from school, and they will carry on doing that in the future in other environments. Regarding the solutions, first of all, the education system should intervene and integrate in the curriculum of school some topics about wasting food. Making the future generation aware of it, will be a useful action to prevent wasting food. Education is the most powerful weapon to solve this crucial problem. For instance, two hours a week on this topic will help to sensibly young people who will spread what they have learnt with others, consequently this message will be transferred as quickly as possible to the community. Another fix could be fining people when they waste food, to allow them to think twice before doing it next time. This action might sound drastic, however if people continue to behave in that way, by doing it might be a quick solution to stop it. In conclusion, the reasons behind the behaviour of wasting food, such as high standars of life and not being educated enough on this topic, are really dramatic that some actions, such as the ones suggested previously, have to be taken as soon as possible in order to stop this negative phenomenon.