An increasing number of people are choosing cosmetic surgeries. Why do people have operations to change the way they look? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

As the medical technology development, there are more people willing to do plastic surgeries to change the way they look. Despite side effects of surgeries still exist, it still overweigh to do nothing for those people. Overall, I believe it is a positive development, there are some drawbacks are worth discussing before reaching a conclusion. First of all, to do unnecessary surgery is hazardous for human bodies. This is because surgery could increase the risk of infections, and other health issue. Although the surgeries usually were done in the clean operation room, patients usually have to take care of their own recoveries, which is easily get infected by becteria. Also, these kinds of operations are typically not covered by insurences insurances and usually dramatically expensive. As a result, people who want to do cosmetic surgeries have the ability to afford finacial costs in. In other words, changing the way they look is a privillage for the rich, which is exclusive to the publics. On the other hand, cosmetic surgeries can also make people smile. It can make people feel more confidence if the operation was successed, since it can significanlty improve one's mental health. Also, most individuals nowadays appreciate their right to decide the why they look by themselves. Therefore, taking responsibility to their own appearence is the main stream of thought. In my opinion, given that plastic surgeries have many of side effects, human rights is the most valuable things. Without the development of medical technology, those who are not satisfy to their look would never feel heppy and being confidence.