Young people who commit crimes should be treated in the same way as adults who commit crimes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people think that children under the age of eighteen when committing a crime have to be judged as adults and not differently, because the crime commited is equal, therefore age is not crucial. I strongly disagree with this view for several reasons that will be underlined in this essay. First of all, young people should be treated differently because age is an important factor to understand the actions of people. In other words, being young is crucial when talking about people, especially in the case of committing a crime. Research has shown that the brain of a youth is not fully developed, therefore the critical thinking, which should stop people doing wrong actions, doesn’t work. For instance, some young people realise what they have done only after talking with some experts, such as forensic psychologist or detective. Secondly, another reason why they have to be judged in a different way is because they still have a long life ahead. The government should look after them and invest on social programs to reintroduce them in the society. For this reason, judges shouldn’t treat them in the same way as adults due to the fact that there is a high probability that they can be different after supporting. In conclusion, these crucial factors, age related to brain development and the life that they still have to live, are important to keep in mind before treating young children as adults, because they are still young enough to change their life trajectory, with the right supports, for a better outcome