Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Currently, many technologies have been developed to be compact for more convenient usage such as smartphones. However, not only adults can access them, but children who are interested in their entertaining function are also possible too. At this point, some people may be concerned about their children spending time on the screen too much, which can cause disadvantages to them. Therefore, I am personally inclined to believe that kids using smartphone for hours a day might receive more negative than positive impacts. Perhaps, smartphone media is almost impossible to manually restrict. There were several cases illustrating juveniles having violent actions due to copying their favorite YouTube videos, even 85% of those were not for kids. Moreover, playing smartphone for a long time also affects long-term health conditions, especially in children under 15 years old. To illustrate, human eyes are extremely flexible if their moist concentration is maintained at over 70%. In contrast, there is research presenting the increasing rate of ocular diseases from losing eye liquid content after focusing on the screen, which significantly affects young people. As a result, this might be true that the demerits of kids paying attention to the devices for a long time are larger than their merits. Nevertheless, some opponents might argue that smartphones can be wonderful learning device for children, not only the archives they have but also how they function. For instance, some parents currently have taught their toddlers by letting them watch cartoons or play games on their mobile phones, which successfully calms them down from crying. However, it cannot be denied that letting children approach media without any control can be harmful to both physical and mental health. As has been demonstrated in this writing, spending hours on screen is quite dangerous for children. Therefore, having rules to control usage is an effective solution to prevent.