NOWADAYS, MORE PEOPLE ARE CHOOSING TO SOCIALIZE ONLINE RATHER THAN FACE TO FACE. IS THIS A POSITIVE OR NEGATIVE DEVELOPMENT?

Today, people all over the world have a chance to meet new friends on online platforms such as instagram, facebook and due to it, most of them are chosen more to meet people virtually than in real life. However, this new way of meeting people is influencing them negatively for several reasons that will be discussed in this essay. Socializing online to make new friends has become a threat for human’s development due to the fact of losing social skills and meeting dangerous people who have a fake profile.First of all, losing social skills, which enable the human species to cooperate in order to survive, is seriously alarming. To give an example, the young population who choose to socialize online are not anymore able to meet people in person, because they are not used to coping with this situation. In other words, they have become anxious people and are too shy to face others. Losing this skill by using online platforms will decrease the capacity of relating to each other and also to survive as a cooperative group of people. Another reason for this negative phenomenon is the risk of meeting fake people online who put the person in an endangered situation. For instance, the media such as television, has been talking about some people who died because they met a person in an online app and trusted without even knowing that they were in danger. To conclude, these negative factors, the loss of social skills and the threat of meeting dangerous people, are going against the progression of the species and stopping consequently the development of human beings.