Some think secondary and high school students should be allowed to choose academic courses leading to university or practical courses leading to careers such as carpenters. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people might think that students can choose either academic courses or practical courses depending on their goals, whereas others think that going to university is necessary and they need to have academic courses. I agree with the idea of deciding what they'd like to do in the future. However, I believe they still need to take some basic academic classes. First of all, I don't think pupils have to take all the academic courses. But, it is important to have a basic knowledge to survive in this society. Learning subjects such as languages, maths, science will be beneficial in the future, letting them understand many things in their lives. However, we shouldn't force them to take those kinds of courses. We need to respect their choice and their passion. If they want to try a certain thing right now and they miss the chance, they will regret it for the rest of their lives. Secondly, going to college is not obligatory. Also, in my opinion, going to university at a specific age is a wrong idea. People can study at any age. For instance, I saw once a 40-year-old woman who came to study at my university. Furthermore, even though they don't take those classes, there are always a plenty of ways to learn things after graduating. Especially, these days, we can easily find a variety of online courses. Those are often as good as ones in public education, or sometimes even better than them. Having as many options as they can in schools will give young people more opportunities and will allow them have broader perspectives about their future. In conclusion, teenagers have their right to decide what career they want have. So, I believe, allowing them decide wheather studying academic courses or practical courses is a great idea.