In some countries, it is illegal for companies to reject job applicants for their age. Is this a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Refusing individuals who seek jobs due to their age, it is not allowed in some countries. I think the drawbacks of this trend outweigh the benefits. On the one hand, old employees play a vital role in an organization’s development because of their experiences. They can do tasks faster with low risk or bias. Recruiting young people solely could be better in the short term due to their speed in attaining company’s goals and their physical fitness, so their absence will be less in comparison to old people. But in the long term, the number of mistakes will be more due to their way of dealing with problems. For example, some businesses are willing to recruit employees with experience in order to make them supervisors or heads of departments. Moreover, to be in a leading position in some enterprises, it is requiring long-term professional journey. On the other hand, restricting work for young only has a negative financial disadvantage because some families do not have sponsors or do not have offspring. So this will end with many issues. It will affect both government and these individuals. One of its side effects is they will not afford their medicine price, therefore the government will pay for them, and it will be an extra load that may return back by problems in country’s economy. To conclude, some authorities believe that banning old-aged to apply for a job is illegal. This notion has more dark sides than bright sides. The presence of high-experience employees will add more to organizations. Additionally, they are wiser than young individuals, so they can overcome troubles efficiently and in short time. Some firms do not allow them to participate in jobs, which may worsen their financial status and increase country’s expense on these part of the community.