The most important aim of science should be to improve people’s lives. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement.

Science and technology have improved people’s lives in many aspects including medical advancement, the development of the space industry and alternative food supply. Some people believe that the aim of science should be the improvement of human advancement, however, I disagree with this statement. It is true that science has been playing a crucial role for human beings. The most significant contribution to our people’s lives is medical advancement. Within 100 years, more than 20 years of life expectancy has improved in Japan. Moreover, exploring outer space could bring the availability of humans living there in the future. According to science research, it is expected that people cannot stay in the earth's near future, therefore, finding alternative ways can be a solution for the next generations. However, science knowledge and technology should not be utilised for human ego. Science researchers should consider not only people’s lives but also natural world such as animals and plants. For example, the number of waste causes environmental pollution in the air, soil and water so that the disease for the creature has been wide spreading. Furthermore, the number of plants is decreasing due to the expansion of living areas for humans. People-centred advancement of science will cause imbalance for living creatures in this world. In conclusion, I strongly believe that the purpose of the advancement of science is required for improve living creatures as a whole. Considering animals and plants is crucial to creating a future for all.