Many young people today spend a significant amount of time on social media platforms, which can lead to various issues. What problems can arise from excessive use of social media among youth, and what solutions can be implemented to address these issues?

Many young people nowadays spent a significant amount of their time on social media which can result in various issues. Although social media platforms play a crucial role in certain aspects like entertainment, education, and communication an excessive use can develop serious mental health issues. It is undeniable that social media platforms are one of the most beneficial developments technology had produced, these websites help people stay in touch with their family and friends especially, who live apart. With videocalls and messages distance is no more a communication barrier. Additionally, platforms made news and information accessible and available to everyone, it does not require more than a click to discover new trends and remain updated with what's new. However, excessive use of these platforms can develop several problems that could pose a serious threat to the life of many. One of these problems is the lack of personal interactions and face-to-face discussion, increasing screen time disconnects children from reality makes it harder for them to interact with their surroundings which leads to create a sense of loneliness and depression. Furthermore, unchecked use can affect children's personality making them more fragile and reduce their self-confidence due to the attention they give for negative and judgmental comments which may push them to change themselves or adapt bad habits they don't belong to in term of seeking perfection. Therefore, a balanced- use will more effectively address the problem and combine between virtual spectrum and healthy lifestyle. In conclusion, platforms took a huge place in our lives where most of us rely on them for business and entertainment purposes, for that, we should understand how to include them healthily in our lives, limiting their negative impact by preventing the excessive use.