Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

It is usually thought that social media are negatively affecting the society as a whole but also each person separately. In my opinion, I agree with this statement, but I also believe there are many benefits that equalize the drawbacks. First of all, it is scientifically proved that social networking sites, like Instagram, have indeed negative impact on individuals and society. Usually, people post on social media about their best and "happiest" moments. So, it is very common case for people to feel anxiety and depression because they are comparing their lives, which at the time it might not be so interesting, with someone else's life. Furthermore, social networking sites provide also unlimited entertaining content for their users. This, in my opinion, implies that users spend a big amount of their free time on their smartphone/ pc and not in resting or doing something productive. Nowadays, because more and more people are using daily social media, this negatively affects also the society as a whole. On the other hand, I believe that social media offer also many benefits to society and individuals. More specifically, social networking sites can be used as a tool for individual producers to promote their products and so they help them to reach bigger audience. Moreover, they offer the possibility for users to connect with new people from all around the world, through text and voice/video calls. So, people can communicate immediate and more frequently and this can I believe that can help build cohese societies. In conclusion, I agree that social networking sites have a negative impact in society and individuals, but because I believe that there are also positive things that they can offer, I think that their positive and negative impact is balanced.