In some countries there are more young people choosing to enrol in work-based training instead of attending university. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

There have been contentious debater over the decision of beginning your career path as an apprentice instead going to the university. Some people believe that acquiring the base knowledge on a particular field is more effective by practical and real experience. Others argue that university is essential in order to succeed in a particular sector. Despite the differing views, I am inclined to believe that the only way to learn how to work is, indeed, practicing and working out on some real life problems and solutions. By fostering this practical experience, a wider knowledge on the job will be obtained. To begin with, going to the university foster some particular skills such as research assessment, more advance knowledge, demonstration of different problems which have to be solved, to name a few. A broader understanding of how things work can be assessed. For instance, in Mechanical Engineering, even though physics is the hardest course, it can be useful when a solution on a problem which involves several rigid bodies is required. Despite the theorical concepts that are taught in university, practical experience is essential to carry out any task. Even if the cleverest physician were responsible for solving a real life problem, such as changing the lubrication oil on the car, the humongous amount of equation this person knows might be useless. Consequently, being able to perform well on a particular job does not rely on an university degree. Following all the points mentioned above, it is important to note that the practical skills that an individual, as an apprentice, is able to acquire outweighs those learnt in university.