Many people argue that restaurants should be required to disclose the nutritional information of the dishes they serve. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In this day, food calorie and nutrition become one of important aspect people considered when they want to eat something especially when they are on a diet or they just starting to build healthy habits. This would cause debates whether restaurants should provide nutritional data when they serve their food or not. By showing nutritional information, it will improve people ’s healthy eating habits, also encourages restaurants to use healthy ingredients. However, there are some drawbacks, where getting accurate nutritional data can be expensive and time consuming for the restaurants, and for the customers it will feel less enjoyable eating experience. But I believe the benefits outweigh the drawbacks. One notable advantage of giving information about nutritional data of the dishes will help improving the clean and healthy eating habits. For example, when there is a transparent nutritional label provided on meals, customers tend to choose the one that contains lower calorie. This will help people to reduce obesity and other diets related to some ilnesses such as diabetes and heart disease. In addition, transparent nutritional data can encourage restaurants to use healthy ingredients and cut off unhealthy ingredients such as excessive use of salt, sugar, and preservatives, as well as high content of bad fats ingredients, so that it will lead to healthier options for the public. Nevertheless, there are potential drawbacks to revealing nutritional transparency. Calculating accurate nutritional data for each dish can be costly expensive and needs time, this is not very beneficial, especially for small restaurants or restaurants that are just starting out. They may need to hire specialists to calculate accurate information which requires high costs for the restaurant. Furthermore, focusing on nutritional information can be less enjoyable for people who eat outside. When people go to restaurants, they usually want to try the food they have not tried before without worrying about calorie counts, so the nutritional data displayed on the food can make people feel guilty to eat and not be able to enjoy eating the food they ordered. In conclusion, while the drawbacks of displaying nutritional information of meals can be expensive and time consuming for restaurants, as well as the less enjoyable experience for people who eat outside, the advantages of improving people ’s healthier eating habits and encouraging restaurants to always use healthy ingredients for their foods can outweight the drawbacks.