A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not well-managed. What are the advantages and disadvantaged of tourism in the modern world?

Tourism in many countries is a very relevant source of income and in many nations represents its main contribution to their gross domestic product. Nonetheless, if poorly-managed, this activity can cause many troubles and degradate our environment. To start with the advantages, tourism can be an essential tool to creates jobs. For example, in many places this activity represents the main source of employement for its inhabitants, and whole families depend on the salaries paid by this industry. Remote islands in the caribbean or luxury lodges in the middle of the jungle are clear examples of places where this pattern occurs. Another advantage of a recent trend in tourism is what is called responsible travelling. Nowadays, more conscious travellers look for experiences that have a minimum impact on the planet. For instance, many people spend their holidays taking care of the turtles who are born in a sanctuary or volunteering in a farm nursering nursery animals or prunning vegetables. In contrast, a disadvantage of this activity is the rise in the price of housing and food in cities where tourism take place. A consequence of it is that citicens must move to the outskirts, when the offer of houses for rent or sale decrease and their prices rise, due to the increase of the offers in platforms like airbnb. In the past, this commonly happened in cities like New York or Madrid, but nowadays this trend has expanded worldwide. This is why many countries have passed new laws in order to regulate the market. Another negative effect of tourism is that many tourists are unaware than when travelling, they are alterating local people´s daily routine and behave in an inapropriate way. As a consequence, agressive responses from locals have occured and are each time more often in popular touristic points. In conclusion, tourism is an activity that, if well conduted, can translate into many benefits. Promoting regulation in order to prevent local comunities of being affected by the rise in their cost of living, impossing tariffs to abusive travellers who misbehave, and fostering travel agencies on focus on offering conscious travelling in order to preserve the natural resources, could be ways to diminish the negative impacts of this profitable industry.