In many countries around the world, it is common for families to run their own business. Some people think that keeping the business within the family is the best approach while other believe this could lead to problems. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is no denying the fact that most individuals prefer to work for their family businesses to expand them, and some people advise keeping family businesses within families, whereas some believe that this approach can bring some significant consequences. In this essay, I will aim to explore both ideas and give my opinion. On the one hand, a considerable number of people advocate the inheritance of family businesses as a beneficial concept. Firstly, it not only helps to make a reputation but also positively affects the well-being of the family in society. For example, an Indian businessman, Mukesh Ambani, got his business inheritance, which made his family one of the most famous in the world. Secondly, a family business can increase the richness and wealth of a particular family if they are running it themselves. On the other hand, an equal number of people think that it can lead to some difficulties. It can break relationships and cause disputes among members. People start comparing themselves to others in their relationships. For instance, a survey by the Times of India shows that, in Asia, mostly large families broke their relations with each other because of their misunderstandings in business. Furthermore, keeping the business within one household can ruin the business too because it is not always sure that the next generation who is going to handle the business is capable enough to do so. To conclude, both aspects have their own merits and demerits, which cannot be ignored. I believe that passing on the family business should depend on the abilities of the person rather than their relationships because it is not only helpful for the business but also for others to invest in it.