The percentage of overweight children in the western societies has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the possible causes and effects of this disturbing trend and offer and solution.

Advanced developments have brought the world close to our finger tips. These improvements in the various sectors have both positive and negative effects on human life, of which obesity is one of the highly prevalent health conditions amongst the others. It has been recently reported that in the last decade the western countries have experienced a 20% surge in the proportion of overweight children. This essay will not only throw light upon the causes and effects of overweightness but also offer some real-world solutions for the same. To commence with, technological developments like computers, mobile phones, play station suits have changed the way children spend their free time in a way that adolescents prefer to stay indoors and utilize the gadgets to keep themselves occupied. As a consequence, the amount of physical activity has plummeted to great levels leading to increase in weight beyond healthy limits. Moreover, the urbanized era has impacted the food habits to greater extent. The younger population is more attracted to all sorts of junk and fast-food items which are extremely unhealthy as they contain more preservatives, sugar, artificial flavors than ever before. Additionally, these food items majority of the items frozen in nature and have high calorie levels. Owing to these reasons, children these days are battling obesity. As we all are aware, obesity leads to detrimental medical conditions and diseases. In the initial phases of obesity, lethargy is seen in almost all the affected individuals which results in reduced physical activity. In a matter of time, these young citizens contract conditions like diabetes and hypertension which are known as silent killers. It is worth noting that, the most dauting dating effect of obesity is the increased incidences of heart attacks and neurological strokes in the younger age groups which have also been highlighted in many scientific studies. To add on, in spite of the fact that obesity has huge spread arms and consequences, it can be reversed with lifestyle modifications, improved eating habits, consistent efforts and perseverance. The most plausible and realistic solutions is incorporating physical education and outdoor sports activity sessions at higher frequency in the academic schedules. Moreover, fitness competitions can be also be planned which can encourage children to maintain healthy dietary habits and keep weight in check. Furthermore, imparting education about importance of physical wellbeing by film-stars and famous personalities will also help these children in getting their role models and strive for a better lifestyle modification. To summarize, despite the well-known fact that younger population is experiencing obesity, it can surely be battles and reversed with appropriate steps in the right direction and time period.