Many people believe that cycling is a healthy and environmentally friendly mode of transport.However, it is still unpopular in many countries. What are the reasons? What could be done to encourage the use of the bicycle among wider population?

These days, biking is not only a method of transportation but also an effective way for having clean environment. However, it can be seen that more nations are unaware how healthy is bicycle riding or are reluctant to use it. There can be two main reasons for this situation, but states can take suitable actions to rise motivations among people to use bikes regularly. Possibly the main reason is the specific lifestyle that people have. Sedantry lifestyle is an omnipresent one in some countries, which people prefer not to have more active lives. Consequently, they tend to use cars instead of bikes for commuting. In the US, people use their private cares for transferring between very short distances, and most of the time their drivers are obese ones. A further well-known cause is the lack of decent cycling infrastructures in most areas. Although people have crave for widespread use of bike, they cannot devise it in the cities. Without having appropriate cycling trails next to the streets, occurrence of accidents, like colliding pedestrians or cars, is highly possible. That is why less people utilize bicycles routinely. Turning to the remedies, governments can set promotive actions to propel people. On effective way is financial incentives. For example,in Austria, if citizens commute with their bicycles between workplaces and homes, they will be paid a specific amount of money at the end of the year. This would spur them to ride more, as a result, less fuel is burned in cars as well as people will be much more active and healthy. The second solution would be providing facilities and basic roads for bicycle riders within the cities. As people observe that the dangers of traveling with bikes are lessened, then they will be more eager to utilize bicycles. Overall, although the lifestyles along with deficiency of apt infrastructurs infrastructures in cities would demotivate people about using bikes, policy makers can encourage them by spending money.