In many parts of the world today there is a profitable market for products which lighten or whiten people’s skin. Outline the reasons for using such products and discuss what effects they have in terms of health and society.

In the global beauty market, skin lightening or whitening products are massive. Women buy those products because they believe in the marketing messages that saying white skinned woman is more beautiful. In this essay I would argue my disaggrement by explaning two awful effects to our health and society. The dangerous side of the skin-colour changed products is because of the chemical material in them. Usually they contain mercury which is toxic, especially in a long term usage. It could trigger many form of cancers. Mercury is a kind of substance that can stay long in our blood. Therefore, a pregnant woman could transfer mercury to her fetus which could create brain damage. The marketing messages about new standard of skin colour could also harm the society. Can you imagine if all the women want to have white skin? We will not appreciate the diversity of beauty. For example, an African woman will not be perceived as a beautiful person only because she is black. For worse, people tend to become discriminative by grouping black people as the ugly ones. As a conclusion, I think skin-whitening products are the example on how the industries only concern about their profit and leave humanity behind. There should be some campaigns against these products so women will not victimized.