In many countries, formal exams are used to assess students’ abilities and judge the success of their education. What are the advantages and disadvantages of using formal exams to assess students’ abilities? Do you think the benefits outweigh the drawbacks?

Assessing students ' capability for academic success by exams is the most method that many countries around the world. I believe that the reliance only on exams does not determine students ' ability to be successful learners. Exams are assessing tool for teachers ' performance, and judging students only by exams is unjustice. Students ' evaluation should based on other factors, such as their personalities, whether they are discipline or not, and also their commitment. Depending only on exams to predict students ’ academic success is could be unfair, when students are not interesting in subjects. Also when they do not study well before exams due to some circumstances, such as illness, so they will achieve low marks. For example, some learners feel anxious during exams, and this will affect their focusing while they are studying. Unfortunately, this will be reflected on their results. On the other hand, exams are considering a standardized way to evaluate teachers themselves, besides students ’ performance and assessing their performance level by responsible authorities. It can give general view by counting number of failed and successful students, if the number of students who are achieved high degree rose, that is mean teachers ' capability for explanation is good. Furthermore, exams are helping students to dry studying in systematic way and organizing their ideas. For instance, some countries tend to exclude teachers if there is huge number of students did not pass exams, they are assuming the problem related to teachers. In conclusion, I believe that exams are a good way to ensure the assessment of students ’ understanding, but it is not an appropriate manner to evaluate students. There are many things could control their educational success, such like personal skills. Also, governments can be knowing teachers efficiency by exams results.