Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences.Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime.Discuss both views and give your opinion. Huy Tran

In the modern era, criminals rate is increasing and many dangerous criminal appear. While some argue that to decrease the prisoner, the best way is rise prison term. Others believe that alternative solutions will be more successful. Two points of view will be discussed in the following paragraphs before presenting my personal perspective in the conclusion. There are many reasons why extended prison term is important to turn down the number of inmates. People who advocates of this method consider that longer detention play a important role and is a solution in against criminal acts. Dangerous prisoner deserve life sentences even death penalty. These punishment are intended to deter prisoners and those preparing to commit crimes. Moreover, after being released from prison, people will never think about committing crimes. A recent research conducted at Havard University show that 70% after being released from prison, people never illegal acts On the other hand, some person believe that there are many alternative methods that are more effective in preventing criminals. Beside increasing prison terms, we can release prisoners for humanitarian reason with people who are good re-educate law-breakers. For instance, criminals in Viet Nam will receive help from government after being released from prison such as help them integrate into the community, find a job, become more honest people. In addition, state some times keep an eye on them if there is a repeat offense. In conclusion, reducing crime is a matter of national concern. In my point of view, combination of increase prison term, severe punishments, and humanitarian measures are essential for criminals.