Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

With the development of technology, access to electronic devices has become an unavoidable fact. Among all these devices, smartphone plays a major role. Unlike years ago, nowadays not only adults, but also children has the access to mobiles. Use of mobile phones among children has a positive as well as negative impact on their development. This essay discusses about the above in detail. The development a child can have a positive impact due to the use of mobile phones. In today's contemporary society, both parents play the role of the bread winner in their families meanwhile, most of the time children are left in a daycare or with some adults. However, the use of mobile can help children to use their parentless time meaningfully by providing educational support. For example, a primary student can improve his basis language and mathematical skills by playing some apps which can be installed in the phone. Similarly, even a toddler is capable of handling these devices at such a young age. Although this must be occurred under the guidance of a parent or a guardian, they tend to grab the concept and methods of the mobile easily. This can develop their thinking capacity. As an example, apps such as ABCmouse, Peek-a-zoo and Speech blubs are capable of improving the toddler's cognitive capacity as well as speaking ability. However, just as a coin has two sides, not only positive, but there can have a negative development of a child due to the use of mobile. One major issue a child could have is health related problems. Lack of physical exercises and social interactions due to mobile addiction can lead to obesity and social isolation. As a result, a child can ended up non-sociable and unhealthy. For an example, a boy who used to spend most of his time on screen would not have much friends to communicate his feelings and as a result even can be ended having anxiety and depression. At the same time, massive screen time can disturb the eye sight of a child. According to the scientists, the light which sparks from mobiles are toxicated to the eyes. That can reduce the vision and even can damage the eye in long term. For an example, a child who is addicted to the phone will have many difficulties in school work especially copying notes from board meanwhile others could. In conclusion, in this technical era, it is inevitable to distance a child from mobiles. Overall, since there are many positives and negatives, it is advisable to children to use them in balance for their own betterment.