Cheaper food is now available because of greater use of fertilizers and improved machinery. This improved production, however, can be harmful to individuals and the community. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view? Discuss, including examples from your

Increased use of fertilizers and machinery in farming is harmful for mankind and communities, therefore, it is a commonly asked question that we must allow this to happen or masses must oppose it. In my viewpoint, I agree with the latter notion and reasons to support my stance are elaborated in the following paragraphs. To begin with, those who are in disagreement assert that these trends have reduced the cost of eatables. In fact, with the surge in crop production by using chemicals and machines food reserves have increased over the years, which has reduced the buying cost of food items. To illustrate, in India, Food Corporation of India buy crops from the farmers and store it for the community distribution, owing to this, items like Wheat, Rice, Pulses etc. are available in the market at a lower cost. Therefore, use of fertilizers and machinery is justified in agriculture. On the other hand, those who advocate that these trends are harmful opine that it deteriorates the soil health and causing soil pollution. Indeed, the enhanced use of chemicals and automation, the soil is getting polluted, which in return is reducing its fertility and spoiling its overall purity. Moreover, this issue has gained a lot of attention from the communities because it is harmful for the future generations to come. Hence, farmers must not use fertilizers and machines in fields. Furthermore, these practices are harmful for the population's health. As a matter of fact, from past a few decades,a number of diseases are being reported that are caused by use of chemicals in crop production such as various type of Cancers, Food Allergies etc. For example, Punjab state in India has emerged as a hot belt for Cancer, because there is a history of uncontrolled use of fertilizers in the farms. Adding more to it, with the use of more machines in food processing the essential nutrients are being destroyed or filtered out from the food items. Thus, people must stand firm against these trends. To sum up, undoubtedly to meet population's food needs, use of fertilizers and automation is justified but its impacts on soil health and individuals health cannot be overlooked.