Large companies have big budgets for marketing and promotion and as a result people gravitate towards buying their products. What problems could this cause? What could encourage people to buy more local products?

One of the widely discussed phenomenons nowadays is the impact of money spent on advertising and marketing by big companies which encourages consumers prefering their pruducts over others. While this trend can lead to several problems, certain precautions can be taken to solve them. It can be argued that large companies have more budget to spend on promotion which results in reduced market share and profit margins for the local businesses. Firstly,most of the time local market players can not allocate sufficient budget on their advertising strategy due to lack of financial resources. Therefore,they can not promote their products widely, make enough sales and profit to grow further. Secondly,large companies are usually multinational companies and with more money spent on mass communication, more consumers are lured to their products rather than local producers in the different industries such as food, fashion, entertainment and more. Hence, it can pose a threat on cultural identity of certain countries. On the other hand, problems discussed above can be minimized with the active role of government agencies.Those parties can impose certain limitations on the market share of large companies and severe regulations on their marketing activities which would help to reduce the gap between small and large enterprises regarding the use of products and services. Additionally, with more financial resources from government to some organizations which actively enable SEM business to have more precense and share in the market. For example, there is one company in Azerbaijan called "AzPromo" which organizes many exhibitions and other events to help local businesses to promote their products and also give the opportunity to them to have a corner in worldwide sales events such as "Gulfood" held in Dubai every year. To conclude, large companies ' marketing capabilites may threaten the presence of local and small businesses which can be regulated and minimized by the active support of government parties.