Social Media has made it easy to be in touch with your friends and family. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, with the development of technology, social media platforms play an essential role in people's daily lives, and many believe that it enhances individuals ' connection with their families and friends. However, from my point of view, the disadvantages of social media is overweigh the advantages. First of all, it seems that social media allows people to get in touch with one another instantly, that individuals should feel more connected. But actually, the opposite is true. According to a research of the University of Cambridge, human beings are lonelier, depressed and anxious than ever, and turning to theraphy and antideppressants to cope. The reason for this phenomenon is that the human being is a social anmial, and people need more connection in the real world instead of merely communicating with others by sharing pictures or typing words on the internet. Secondly, social media becomes the main paltform for people to share their daily lives, instead of paying attention on the real life events, such as tasting delicious food or chatting with others, an increasing number of individuals spend extensive time and energy on taking outstanding pictures and using photoshop to retouch those pictures in order to show, not to enjoy, the best moments of their lives, which will lead to both physical and psychological problems in the long term. Last but not the lease, the leakage of personal information on social media causes serious problems to the society, increasing the rate of fraud and decreasing the index of personal safety. The advancement of Artificial Intelligence makes this problem even worse, with the easy productions of faking videos with faking sounds, bring significant negative influences on the trust between people. In conclusion, I believe the disadvantages of social media are far more exceed its advantages, and individuals should not saturate in the virtual reality, but focus more on the real world.