Some people think technological development can reduce crime, while others think it would encourage crime. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In recent years, the argument about whether technological development reduce or increase in crime rate being popular. While I acknowledge that technological advancements have made crime more complex and varied, I still recognize that it works wonders in stopping crime. Those who support that scientific improvement push the criminal doing something illegal view that technology gives perpetrators more opportunities. To begin with, emergence of new forms of crime, cybercrime. The growth of the internet and digital systems has led to an increase in crimes such hacking, identity theft and online telephone fraud. In addition, some criminals use advanced technological tools to push traditional crime more efficiently and easier. For example, thefts can use specific tool to tamper security systems that rely on location tracking, which make them easier to break into a home or business, while they only can damage the lock in the past time. However, I will argue that technological development can reduce crime. The first is that criminal recordings have become more common, as example by the wide range of cameras in public places such as street, shopping center and banks, which can act as a barriers to potential criminals. Furthermore, the outcome of DNA analysis has revolutionized criminal investigations. A tiny sample of DNA that left in the spot, like hair, blood, fingernail, can be used to identify and convict the suspect. For example, in cases of sexual offence cases, DNA evidence is critical to find the aggressors. This technology has solved many cases that has ended up with nothing definite and has made it more difficult for aggressors to escape justice. In conclusion, although the development of technology open up new areas for criminal behavior, I personally think that it also provide powerful tools for law enforcement to prevent and solve crimes.