Many believe that formal pen and paper examinations are not the best method to assess educational achievement. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this approach.

There is no denying the fact that formal pen and paper examinations are a widely used method for assessing educational achievement. While it is a commonly held belief that these examinations provide a comprehensive measure of a student's knowledge and understanding, there is also an argument that they might not accurately reflect a student's true abilities. This essay will analyze this topic from both points of view and express my opinion. On one hand, written exams have some good points. They help students show what they know about different subjects in a short time, and they teach students how to manage their time well. In other words, these tests copy real-life situations where people have to finish tasks in a certain time. In addition, these exams often cover many topics, so students need to study a lot and get wide knowledge. For example, in a history test, students might need to remember events, talk about why they're important, and explain things clearly. On the other hand, there are problems with this way of testing. Mainly, written exams can make students nervous and stressed, which can stop them from doing their best. It's also possible to say that these tests focus on remembering facts more than using knowledge practically. Moreover, some students might learn in different ways that don't match with the test style, so they can't show their best. For instance, a student who's really good at projects might not do well in a written test. In conclusion, there's no easy answer to this question. On balance, however, I tend to believe that using different ways to test is better. While written exams are good in some ways, they should go along with other kinds of tests like hands-on assignments, talks, and group projects. This makes sure all students can show their skills and what they know in the best way.