37.Young people who commit crimes should be treated in the same way as adults by authorities. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Write an essay with no less than 250 words.

It has been argued by some that authorities must punish the young criminals in the same manner as the adults. I strongly support this viewpoint because mild punishments may lead to higher chances of repeating the crime. Apart from this, less stricter treatments might reduce the seriousness of the offences in the minds of the young people. This essay will further elaborate on this topic. To commence with, we know that all humans are equal in they eyes of the law. Therefore, it is vital that all criminals must be punished equally irrespective of their age. Easier or less severe penalties might highten the probability of repetition of the offensive behaviour in the future. This is because the young people might assume that since they are children they will be able to escape the legal actions, consequently continuing to indulge in criminal actions. For instance, a child who was caught robbing from a jewellery store was not punished adequately as he was under 18 years of age. Leaving him unpunished, he continued to indulge in robbery. Additionally, all offenses are equally serious and dangerous whether caused by the adult or juvenile population. A murder caused by a child does not make it less harmful as it still costs the victim to loose his life. Furthermore, mild treatments to young offenders will result in reducing the impact of the crime. Due to this, these young children may belive that they have not done anything wrong leading to lessening the gravity of the crime. For illustration, a 16-year old boy who killed two people by dashing them with his car while he was drunk was only asked to write an apology to the victims family members without any serious punishments. Few years later, he was caught in the same situation where he killed a beggar sleeping on the road side. In conclusion, I support the statement that penalising all offenders equally regardless of their age is cricual critical because it maitains the seriousness of the committed offenses along with reducing the occurrences of those crimes again by the juvenile criminals.