It is seen that older adults are not given enough respect and facilities in many countries. What could be the reason for this? What are the effects of this?

Good treatment for the elderly has become a debatable topic nowadays, as many states offer a host of opportunities to this age group when composing an annual budget. Despite this, critics argue that not enough attention is captured to older people `s problems as well as to their social status. In this essay, I will delve into the underlying causes of such an issue and explore the far-reaching consequences of this alarming trend. To start with, older people are considered a burden on the national economy in many societies. As individuals usually retire after concrete age, they, thus, are not lucrative to the economy. But governments in turn are obliged to pay them money from their pension funds, which are supported partially by tax-payers. Hence, nations tend to disrespect people with zero benefit, who need assistance. For instance, there is a charity organization in Russia which provides retired individuals with financial support, donated by Russian citizens. However, the budget is not sufficient to help all the elderly, as the number of donators does not prevail over the number of those in need. Moreover, the elderly suffer from mental diseases, which complicate the process of collaboration and decrease social respect for them. As the people of this particular age group cannot receive accountable treatment, they become some sort of deviants in the community. The effects of the old population`s unfair treatment are multifaceted. Firstly, they lose their desire for lives, committing suicides not to be a burden. For example, the greatest proportion of those who decided to end their lives themselves is the elderly in the Russian Federation. According to the state statistics, about 30% of the suicides in 2020 were made up of old individuals. Besides, inappropriate attitude towards this age group gives rise to the emigration of people of different ages. It is logical that nobody wants to contribute to the country which in the end will not provide sufficient support to you or your family members. As a counterargument, I can give an example of Japan, where the inflow of people is very high because of the sound retirement policy. In conclusion, the decline in socioeconomic benefits for the old population can be attributed to the necessity to give money to this community without any advantages and their mental instability. The consequences of this pressing issue extend beyond increased suicide levels, impacting also population outflow. Addressing this issue requires a comprehensive approach involving state policy and education improvement.