Some species of animals are almost extinct; and many others seem to be fast approaching a similar risk. What are the reasons for this? What should be done to solve this problem?

One of the most pressing environmental concerns of the modern age is animal conservation. It is apparent that many species of animals are facing extinction which has devastating consequences for the diversity of life on our planet. The purpose of this essay is to examine the reasons for this problem and suggest some preventative measures. The major threat to the survival of animal species is humankind. This is clear in the illegal poaching of endangered animals like tigers and rhinos which are hunted for sport and to be sold on the black market. Many species of fish are also the victims of overfishing which has a disastrous effect on fish numbers. However, we have also had a profound effect on animal life in the way in which we live. Rapid urbanisation over the last one hundred years has had a highly destructive effect as cities and towns encroach on many animal’s ecosystems. Also, in order to sustain our growing population, more and more space is needed for agriculture. This is most evident in the deforestation of the Amazon rainforest which has endangered many species. One final negative human influence can be seen in the changing environment. Animal ecosystems are the result of millions of years of evolution whereby the animals have adapted to their surroundings. Climate change threatens to alter these surroundings at an incredible rate which could have cataclysmic results for many animals. A clear example of this is the habitat of the polar bear which is expected to be drastically reduced over the next few decades. Despite these problems there are some measures that could be taken to address the problem. Governments around the world need to share responsibility for protecting animals and implement more severe punishments for animal poachers and hunters. We can also have larger protected areas and national parks where human activity is limited. Perhaps the most difficult problem to address is that of climate change which would mean a dramatic change in human behaviour. In conclusion, we can see that humans are having a very negative effect on animal numbers. We need to take responsibility for the protection of animal numbers by reducing the number of animals being killed directly and indirectly by human activity.