Some people think young children should learn how to play a musical instrument at school. Others believe that other subjects, such as mathematics and science, should be prioritised because they will be more useful for children when they grow older. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Learning to play musical instruments can be beneficial for children's cognitive and emotional development. But whether the main curriculum should cover musical learning remains open to question as it is not as useful for children's future as the acquisition of natural or social sciences. This essay will explore both sides of the matter and draw a conclusion at the end. On the one hand, learners can benefit intellectually and emotionally from musical abilities. Those knowing how to play musical instruments are more likely to develop hand-eye cooperation and spatial awareness, which fosters better processing speed, creativity and cognitive functions. For example, young pianists are believed to do better when playing a game of catch as they control their limbs more effectively. Moreover, they are also more creative and flexible at problem-solving. In addition, musical skills may facilitate artistic sensitivity and an empathetic soul, making one relates better with other people. Not only does learning to play a musical instrument promote cognitive development but it also encourages wholesome mental growth, where children have time to relax and relish their own melodies. On the other hand, I believe that more essential subjects should be prioritised over music at schools. Both science and non-science subjects, such as Literature, Languages, Maths, etc. equip individuals with the essential knowledge needed to succeed in their future careers, while music competence can hardly help. For example, the majority of high-paying jobs in fields like medicine, law, or engineering require a strong theoretical framework rather than musical abilities. As a result, an intensive focus on academic subjects is required should one want to accomplish professional achievements. Moreover, as there are a large number of academic subjects which students have to deal with, targeting only major fields may reduce the pressure and academic rigour confronting students, therefore yielding better learning outcomes. In conclusion, while music can do wonders for individual intellectual capacity and emotional growth, musical skills should not be made a compulsory requirement in school settings. This is because it is trumped by the mastery of other subjects in pursuing one's career path, in addition to the additional pressure it may add to an already exhausting learning schedule facing learners.