Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is no doubt that learning a foreign language is not easy. While some people believe that knowing another language is just for travelling or living in another country, others argue that there are other benefits in acquiring another language skills. In this essay, I will discuss both side of the argument and explain my support for the latter view. To begin with, the key of learning languages is for effective communication. If we are only staying in our own country, our mother language would be sufficient in on day to day communication with each other. As a result, it is not necessary to be trained in a foreign language unless we are going to visit another country that speak different languages. Moreover, language training requires practices, if we are only staying in our community, there is no chance to practise the other language that we learn. Therefore the foreign language that we learnt may get forgotten after some time. For instance, in England, most people learned a second language in secondary school, such as German or Spanish, but most people would forget the language after a while as we didn’t need to communicate in other language in our daily lives. Turning to the other side of the argument, language is not only for communication, but also for learning different culture. Although we spend most of the time living in our own country, there is a variety of culture surrounding us every day. To illustrate this point, different type of cuisines and restaurants that we may visit in our community would be the most obvious example in our daily lives. There is an advantage of learning a little but of other languages for knowing what you can order from a restaurant. For example, ‘pollo’ means chicken in Italian restaurant, ‘wasabi’ is a form of mustard in Japanese restaurant. Therefore, I believe that learning foreign languages is not only for travelling or living in another country, but it also benefits our day to day lives that is surrounded by different culture because of globalization. To conclude, there are different views in the purpose of learning another language, whether it’s for travelling or other reasons. In my opinion, learning different languages is not only for communication but also for understanding other cultures for broadening one’s horizons.