It’s important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

There is no doubt that children should learn basic moral and core values at the start of their lives. As we all know, there are many ways of teaching children such as positive reinforcement and rewards scheme, but some people believe that punishment is essential for children to learn effectively. In this essay, I will explain and give examples of my agreement in punishment. Firstly, I think punishment is essential for children to learn because there is punishment in the adult world as well when grown-ups have done something wrong, for instance, there would be fines or even going to prison if you break the law. Therefore, I think children has to understand and to fit in the world around them when they are little, to understand that there would be consequences if they have done something wrong. While I agree that punishment is necessary in modelling children ’s good behaviour, I don’t agree with punishment that’s hurting children physically, such as hitting them or starving them for a long period of time. To illustrate, time out is a good way of letting children know that their behaviour at the moment is beyond the rules, for example, when several children are playing together and one of the child started hitting or snitching other children ’s toys, supervising adults should teach them not to hit or snitch and the concept of sharing and taking turns, however, if the child got too heated and continued the unacceptable behaviour, I would suggest to take the child away from the group and have some time-out for them to calm down and to understand that there is a consequence of their undesired behaviour. To conclude, although I think that punishment is essential in letting children know what is right or wrong, it is not the only way. Other forms of teaching such as giving positive feedback, praising and rewarding children are also effectively way for children to learn.