Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past 30 years that may cities in the world are now "one big traffic jam" How true do you think this statement is? What measurement can government take to avoid this.

The past 30 years have evidenced a rampant increase in the car ownership leading to a concerning problem of traffic jam in most of the cities in the world. I truly believe this because due to this alarming situation, many employees reach their offices late, daily. In order to prevent this issue, the government should initiate methods like car-pooling. To embark on, traffic congestion has definitely become the prime problem in majority of the developed cities. This seems to have arised from the fact that, due to higher employment prospects, many people migrate to such cities each day, consequently resulting in over increasing population. This in turn causes crowding in public transport means like buses, trains and metros, along with huge queues for purchasing tickets. To avoid this, people prefer to buy their own vehicles. But in the long run, the number of private vehicles have increased incessantly, ultimately causing trafffic jams on all routes. As a consequence, a large number of employees report to their workplaces beyond permissible times, daily. As an illustrstion, inspite of constructing new highways and bridges, the citizens of Mumbai and Bangalore are dealing with huge traffic blockages on a day-to-day basis. To cater to this problem of overcrowding of vehicles on the roads, the official bodies must eduacte the public about the strategies like car-pooling. This will lessen the number of vehicles on the roads as workers of the same company residing in the same vicinity can travel together by one car instead of multiple cars. Ultimately, the reduction in number of private vehicles will loosen the traffic blockages and poeople will be able to reach their offices on time. For instance many citizens of the western countries have adopted carpooling with their colleagues to reach their offices on time. To summarize, the fact that the number of personal vehicles have increased drastically over the past 30 years is highly alarming as it has negative consequences on the office employees. Nevertheless, the authoritarian bodies should implement measures like carpooling to cater to this issue.