There goes a saying ‘Pressure makes diamonds’. Many people claim that placing intense pressure on students can do wonders for their growth, while others believe that pressure is useless and is conducive to other undesirable problems.

It is believed that pressuring students can allow them to develop more effectively whilst others argue that that technique may be a catalyst for potential mental and physical damage in the future, thus, useless. Personally, I believe pressure can have long-term consequences for students in the long term. On the one hand, pressure does play a role in the development of students, especially in the modern world. When people get hammered in a need to do something and do it well, it creates a sense of urgency — having to meet the deadline and expectation before it expires. That nature of pressure could compel individuals to be innovative and try out new methodologies they have never done before, probably sparking revolutionary inventions in the process. Furthermore, pressuring students can teach students resilience in a modern world filled with distractors. Social media, interpersonal relationships and the natural expectations of society could negatively affect children not familiar with pressure. Both of these points are clearly demonstrated with the advent of nuclear power. It was created for powering the military of the US and USSR but still remains relevant today as an alternative source of power to combat humanity’s impact on the environment. On the other hand, there are drawbacks to using pressure for a developing student in the long-term. Indeed the stress-inducing mechanism of pressure can create motivation but may backfire under prolonged exposure. This is because constant pressure allows no room for stress to be let off, resulting in the latter accumulating until the person could not withstand more. Being immature, children may have a detrimental mental health response to stress such as depression and anxiety. Furthermore, the methods used to build pressure may have significant ethical considerations. To comprehensively pressure someone, something important might be at risk, usually restrictions on a person’s daily activities. However, young students form a misconception that this is normal rather than forfeit of their inherent rights as an individual. Therefore, pressure can also be the bane of student growth. In my opinion, pressure can be a valuable tool in helping students grow. However, excessive use of pressure can leave consequences to young children that may negate any possible benefits. Therefore, the use of pressure in children ’s development should be done moderately with extreme care to maximise its benefits. In conclusion, whilst placing pressure on children does have benefits, it also has underlying risks when applied inappropriately. Only through careful use of it and combining it with other techniques can pressure effectively help children grow.