A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashion views, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The rise of social media has made contemporary society more often fixated on outward appearances — wealth, status. It is believed that this trend would soon replace traditional values that define individual significance. Personally, I fully disagree with this idea. To begin with, opponents against my viewpoint argue that affluence and status is crucial in modern society. Individuals possessing such traits were highly valued for their ability to manipulate or influence resources, thereby increasing their survivability. With consumerism, this desirability permeates into modern society because they could have better access to many aspects of life — such as healthcare, education and exotic items.. Furthermore, the image of status and wealth is continually reinforced in the media. That they are highly desirable, wealth and power is almost always glorified in popular culture, especially with the rise of social media allowing people to post content at will. Therefore, societal values have shifted towards tangible displays of success. On the other hand, traditional values — honour, kindness or trust — still hold importance in the contemporary world. One major contributor is that they are an integral part of many civilisations. Because these beliefs fostered social cohesion, traditional values such as kindness, honour and trust enabled communities to survive, and later thrive, together. As a result, these traits became ingrained within the moral or social frameworks of various civilisations. Therefore, traditional values became an inseparable part of people’s cultural identities and are passed down between generations, ensuring they remain relevant. Furthermore, that cultural identity allows traditional values to be emphasised in the modern world. Actions motivated by such traits resonate within people because they exemplify what it means to be kind, to have honour and to be trustworthy. Hence, traditional values are constantly depicted in popular culture. In conclusion, affluence and status may have gained popularity, it has not overshadowed traditional values because the latter is an intrinsic part of our cultural identities.. Therefore, I disagree that cultural values would be phased out by materialistics materialists views.