Some people think that mothers should spend most of their time raising their family, and therefore the government should support them financially. Do you agree or disagree?

It is believed by some that mothers must engage majorly in raising their children, and hence it is the responsibility of the governing authorities to provide them with the financial support. I strongly oppose this view, firstly because the government has more crucial things to cater to like the defense and medical systems of the nation. Secondly, empowering the mothers to become independent will benefit in the long run. To commence with, governmental bodies are established for making and executing plan for developing the nation as a whole by strengthening its medical, defense, employment and educational sectors. Moreover, for these tasks, the governmental bodies have a stipulated annual budget. Helping the women by supporting then financially will lead depletion of monetary reserves, resulting in the low quality of health services as well as a compromised defense mechanism of the nation. For example, a new scheme by government of Maharashtra provides monthly financial help to all women, which ultimately reduces the funds available for other important development plan of the state. Furthermore, it of prime importance to make all women rasing their families independent in terms of earning money. Additionally, providing money as a support tends to weaken these individuals rendering them to become dependent. To add on, this might also lead some of them to become lazy and complacent about their stagnant lives. Therefore, it is the prime responsibility of the government to empower these women by imparting education, thus enabling them to stand on their own feet. For example, the Educational Ministry of India provides free education to all women which helps them to build their own career and not be dependent on others for money. In summary, although some people are of the perspective that women must stay back at home and hence the government must extend them financial support, I strongly disagree with this viewpoint due to multiple reasons. Primarily, government bodies should spend their financial budget on optimising the defense and healthcare systems, and secondly, they must support women by empowering them to be independent.