Some students take one year off between finishing school and going to university, in order to travel or to work. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Whether students should take a gap year before enrolling into higher education is a recurring argument. This writer argues that the advantages of travelling and working experiences outweigh the drawbacks of being 1 year later compared to their generations. The most advantageous factor of a gap year is that people can travel around to experience the world surrounding them which is not seen through a picture in a book. In other words, when teenagers are travelling around, they can broaden their horizons and check the realistic status of knowledge which they learnt at school. Therefore, students have more experience relating to that knowledge. Another major benefit from a gap year is working experience which is very important for future applications. To be more specific, when teenagers have more work experience, they will have more chances to apply for work since they have more work experience than others. Moreover, they will know how to deal with some hard situations in their work. Thus, having more work experience is very crucial in order to get more chances to be applied by the employer. However, a few people argue that taking a gap year will make you graduate slower than the students in your generation. This is because while they are taking a gap year, their peers continue their education, which will make them later than their 1 year of knowledge. This may be true, but learning 1 year later does not mean that they won’t learn sufficient than the others, they just take 1 year off to improve their skills. As a result, when they graduate from their school, they will be employed faster than those people in that generation. In conclusion, the possible impact of taking a gap year is learning 1 year later than their peers, this was outweighed by the experience of working and travelling. Hence, having a gap year can be more beneficial for teenagers to prepare for their future.