People, who go to live in other countries should follow the customs and tradition of the new country, to what extent to do you agree or disagree?

It has been argued by some people that immigrants must follow the culture and traditions of the country they have relocated to. I, partially agree with this view because this help them to understand the new cultural practices. Nonetheless, while doing so, they should not forget their own traditional practices. On the one hand, increasing number of people are migrating to foreign nations in recent times for better educational and employment prospects. Thus, these migrants come across a lot of new festivals and practices which they must accept and follow. This will not only broaden their horizons of knowledge of different customs but also help them to live in harmony with the forgein citizens. Seeing the immigrants follow their culture, will lead the foreign people to accept them with open arms resuting resting in global peace and good relations. For instance, Indians who live in the Western nations like the United Kingdom and the USA celebrate Christmas with great pomp and happiness. This leads the British and Americans to see Indians as their own people and thus have better relations between them. Opposingly, while many people readily adopt the foreign practices and traditions, they have a tendency to forget their own festivals and their significance. Moreover, they try to belittle their own nation for celebrating them. This is because, after moving abroad they develop undue pride about themselves and their new western lifestyle. They believe that such festivals are obsolete and the people following them are orthodox. It is worth noting that, some people feel ashamed of continuing such significant traditions even when they are away from home. Eventually, they forget their own roots. As an illustration, a few Indians living abroad disregard festivals like Ganesh Chaturthi and Navratri because they feel ashamed of being recognised as Indian citizens on the foreign lands. To summarise, people living abraod must adopt the customs and traditions of the new country because it helps them to learn more about their culture and have good relations with the native people. Nevertheless, I also believe that while doing so, they must not disregard and belittle the traditional practices of their own country to feel proud of themselves.