In some countries, small town-centre shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars. Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

In some nations, the current scenario is that many small town-centre stores are facing problems in running their business as a majority of people prefer to visit the large stores situated outisde the town by their own cars. Due to this, many people who do not own cars are unable to visit such big stores. This may result in a hike in the usage of cars. This situation has both merits and demerits which will be ellaborated in the essay further. To commence with, there are certain advantages to increase in the use of vehicles for visiting the larger stores which are located outside the town. Firstly, an increasing number of citizens will buy their own cars in order to enable them to shop from the big shopping centres. This eventually brings profit to the entire automobile manufacturing and selling industry. Secondly, People will be able to buy branded things which are unavailable in the local markets. This consequently enables them to be happy and content about their shopping experience. To give a clear example, recently a huge proportion of the Indian population prefers travelling long distances for shopping at international brand stores as they believe that shopping at such malls helps them to get good quality and long-lasting products. This gives them better satisfaction of spending money. In contrast, it is worth noting that, the disadvantages of this current trend cannot be neglected. Primarily, the increasing number of vehicles on the roads will require more fuel. Secondly, more private cars bring along the problem of huge traffic congestions. Both these after-effects will undoubtedly raise the air and noise pollution levels beyond healthy limits. Moreover, the small-scale local businesses and stores will soon have to be shut down due to no customers, thus causing the owners to face enormours losses. For example, in Mumbai, many local clothing shops are now shutting down as a large proportion of the buyers visit the branded clothing stores. On analyzing both sides of the situation, the drawbacks pose a huge threat to both the environment as well as the local entrepreneurs. Therefore,the disadvantages outweight the advantages. To recapitulate, small town-centre shops are closing as many people visit the big shops located on the outskirts. People not having their own cars, thus have limited access to these shops. This might cause a surge in the number of cars. Although this serves beneficial for the automobile industries and the people, the losses to the nature and the small, local shops are devastating.