Some say that music, art and drama are as important as other school subjects, especially at the primary level. Do you agree or disagree?

Are non-academic subjects really as important as the academic ones? Some people argue that it is essential to teach children in schools subjects like music, arts, and drama, especially the younger ones, while others believe that time consumed on such subjects could be better used teaching more academia. In my opinion, allowing boys and girls to explore such subjects would be very useful. The main point held against teaching these subjects is that they take up a big portion of the young students’ time without any academic relation. Moreover, if students get overly involved, that could even negatively impact their academic performance. In contrast, some students show no interest, and with most schools having mandatory attendance in classes, some children feel forced and would rather do something else if given the choice. On the other hand, non-academic subjects are, for the most part, creativity-oriented; therefore, they have the ability to offer students the space to express their creative side and discover their passions. In addition, subjects of that kind can be a nice change of pace, allowing children to do activities they might consider fun. Drawing funny faces or playing an instrument they enjoy could recharge them and enable them to continue the rest of the school day without feeling depleted. To sum up, creative subjects and if we should keep on teaching them in schools is still a topic for debate, as both sides provide valid points, but I personally believe that non-academic subjects must continue to exist providing our children with the creative space they need to discover their passion.