More and more citizens relying on private cars as their major means of transportation. Describe some of the problem overreliances on cars can cause, and suggest at least one possible solution.

The increasing number of people that use private vehicles as their mode of transportation could lead to some problems that need to be addressed. In this essay, I will describe the problems for relying our transportation mostly on private vehicles and what solution is viable. The first major problem for the increasing number of cars is the congestion it makes on our cities. More cars means that more vehicles in our road infrastructure, thus it would lead to overcrowding the traffic more. The congestion that happen would then affect our quality of life, since most of our time in commuting spent on traffic jams. For example, people that live in an sub urban area will require more time to commute to anticipate the congestion in their way, thus reducing their time for another purpose. Another problem caused by this phenomenon is that since most cars still run on gasoline, the emmision emissions produced by the traffic would be high. Additionally, the pollution emits by the traffic would be much higher if the traffic is often jammed. For instance, the air quaility is poorer in certain cities such as Jakarta that is known as having one of the most congested traffic comparing to other regions that has less traffic. One of the most viable option that could amend these problems is the development of public transportation that covered most of the sub-urban and city centre area. The existence of public transportation could give people options for their commuting activities in a much more convenient way without having to stuck in a traffic. Hence, the number of people that use private transportation could be decreased furthermore if the public transportation is reliable for people to use. In conclusion, I believe the problems of the increasing number of cars could be corrected by the development of a good and reliable public transportation system.