Some people think that in order to solve traffic and transportation problems people should be encouraged to live in cities rather than in suburbs or in the countryside. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

āœØ Do you want to improve your IELTS writing? Despite the fact some individuals believe it is necessary to move to developed cities from rural areas to fight transportation challenges, I firmly disagree with this idea. In this essay, I will outline the main drawbacks of such a perception. To start with, there is no denying the fact that more citizens in a city leads to overpopulation and, thus, worsens traffic congestion. Trying to deal with transportation issues, people create heavy jams, especially during rush hours. For example, the streets in Hanoi are overflooded with bikes every morning when employees and students drive their own vehicles to reach their destinations. I believe that if fewer individuals had lived downtown, Hanoi would not have been that overwhelmed with private cars and motorcycles. Moreover, this urbanization results in countryside abundance. Obviously, when people are not willing to participate in the social life of a suburb, all the facilities will lose their value. So, a small town will be demolished that way, including its culture and social heritage. As an illustration, I can propose the history of my hometown, namely Apsheronsk. Previously, it had been a fascinating place with breathtaking landscapes before urbanization in Russia started in the 2010s. After people had moved from my town, life there became blank, and the government authorities even closed a local hospital because of the outflow of the population. In conclusion, I find it necessary to emphasize the fact that there are no reasonable arguments for encouraging citizens to live in cities instead of rural areas. Firstly, it leads to overpopulation, creating even more inconveniences. Besides, such an attitude affects suburbs negatively, as their potential to thrive declines.