Many countries raise fuel prices to deal successfully with problems of traffic and polluon. What effects do you think this move can have? What other measures do you think can be taken to reduce traffic and pollution ?

Urbanization has made air pollution and traffic jam the concern to most countries. while governments incline the price of fuel to tackle this struggle, i believe raising petrol price will do more harm than goods, as some countries relay on petrol for majority of activities. Moreover, taxation on fuel consuming vehicle will be more effective. To begin with, fuel are the main source of energy in most developing countries, use to produce electricity, cooking, generator usage and many more activites such as pumping water from bolehole boreholes bolthole. therefore, increasing fuel prices could affect the country economy and also inconvience the populations. as people with less income would not be able to afford that. Besides, other methods such as heavy tax on fuel emission vehicle and providing enough public transportation system can far decline the rate of traffic congestion and promote usage of electric means of transport. if governments equip efficient public transport and metro means to be fast and frequent, majority of individuals will rather use public transport than to struggle the need of driving. In conclusion, raise in fuel price could handle the rates at which fuel emission vehicle are used, but the challenges that accompanied this idea less comfortable for the individuals, and will economically affect the country.