In the future, nobody will buy printed books or newspapers because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying? To what extent, do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The wave of digitalism has been pushed to a climax these years. Some doubt that the sales of newspapers and books will vanish in recent future since online readings with lower costs would totally replace them. This essay will defend that consumptions on paper -based readings will not be replaced by their digital counterparts by arguing that reading on paper could contribute to eye health and would guarantee reading experiences. First of all, printed reading materials might potentially improve eye health of readers. Nowadays, people spend increasingly more times focusing on screens. According to a research based on screentime tracking, the amount of time spent on electronic devices for both works and entertainments surge to over 14 hours per adult. This trend, which is the fruit of drastic digital innovations, is irreversible. However, long-term exposure to the blue lights radiated by the digital screens could lead to severe impacts such as the development of various eye diseases. Reading on paper, fortunately, provides people with opportunities to relieve their eyes from these exposures. Another advantage of paper -based reading is that it allows significantly higher reading experiences than online readings. Immersive reading, for example, is one of the appealing characteristics of paper books which could be hardly achieved by digital readings. Readers are not required to navigate the dashboard in order to turn the pages and no advertisements would be popped up to distract them from the contents that they are concentrating on. Moreover, compared to the potentially illegal and unreal content on the internet, a majority of the printed books in the market tends to be authorised. As a result, content integrity, another pivotal component of reading experiences, could be assured. In conclusion, this essay has argued that printed-based readings would not be replaced by online readings by mentioning that firstly, paper books help improve eye conditions by reducing exposure to blue lights. Secondly, reading experiences that could hardly be achieved by digital readings are mostly those inherent advantages of conventional readings.