Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification.

Many undergraduates wish to study various subjects along their main course, while others believe that it’s more important to scope all your concentration and energy into only one qualification. In this essay, I will discuss both views. showing why the latter surpasses the former. On the one hand, those who argue that studying other subjects alongside the main ones might seek a wider range of information. This is because they might think that it is more important to have a little bit of everything than to put all your focus into one field. Looking into history, we can see multiple figures who achieved professionalism in one field along with other smaller accomplishments in other fields. For example, the Islamic philosopher and physician Ibn Sina, who is mainly famous for being the father of modern science, has also other accomplishments in fields like astronomy, geography, and mathematics. On the other hand, I believe that putting your focus into only your course is essential in order to reach supremacy and to keep your mind settled without scattering your attention and wasting your energy on various subjects. This is the case because most fields require excessive knowledge of all the aspects and branches of certain sciences, making them too complex to be studied partly. For instance, it would be too hard and nearly impossible for an engineer studying physics, geometry, mechanics, and arithmetic to study another subject such as history. Moreover, studying a lot of branches of study at once would mostly lead to a lack of professionalism in any of them. In conclusion, while some college students believe that they can study a lot of fields at once and still achieve supremacy, I believe that this is a nearly impossible task and that they should focus on just their profession in order to become specified technicalists.