Many university graduates cannot find a job in their chosen profession. What factor may have caused this situation and what in your opinion, should be done it.

Finding a job in certain fields of your choice could be challenging for college graduates. This essay will discuss the factors that could influence this situation and the solutions. Firstly, the economic condition of a country could influence job opportunities as a whole, especially for college graduates. When the market situation is stagnant, the chance of getting a job is also decreasing. Additionally, college graduates usually fill the skilled worker posts, where this kind of job is more reactive to the general economic conditions. For instance, in Indonesia, many workers who worked at technological start-up companies faced layoffs when the economic situation was bad, such as during the COVID-19 pandemic. Secondly, the rise of degree holder numbers also affect the opportunity to find a job. In other words, this condition leads to a job market that is hyper-competitive, thus making the opportunity slimmer for the university graduates. This condition could be depicted by the experience of Indonesia. When the number of graduates rose, the job market became more competitive for the college degree holder since the number of jobs and the number of graduates is far from equal. I argue that there are two possible solutions that could be done to fix these problems. First, the government could propose programs to push the growth of business sectors in order to expand job opportunities through incentive programs for business sectors to increase the rate of investment (both for domestic investment and foreign direct investment). Second, college graduates could develop their skills that are more needed by the business sectors through secondary education or professional training. This could help the graduates to increase the chance for them to get the job they wanted. In conclusion, both the country's economic conditions and the rise of college graduate figures lead to the diminishing chance of getting a job nowadays. However, I believe there are two possible solutions, that is for the government to formulate programs to push the growth of business sectors and for the college graduates to develop their skills according to the demand in the job market.