Mobile phones and the Internet could have many benefits for old people. However, this age group uses technology the least. What are the benefits for old people using mobile phones and the Internet? How can we encourage them to use this technology?

In modern discourse, the issue of mobile phones and internet usage by elder citizens has attracted widespread interest, particularly highlighting the phenomenon of their seldom use of this modern technology. This essay examines the underlying benefits and presents practical solutions.   The primary benefits of this phenomenon is that it can alleviate isolation and loneliness for old people, as shown by extensive research underscoring many senior citizens feel isolated as they stay alone without children and friends. Through internet and phones, they can share feelings and communite community with their friends and children at anytime and in anywhere. For instance, a comprehensive study by top researchers in the USA reveals that one of the majority target user group of Tiktok is elder age, by which they watch interesting short videos and communicate with their friends and familes family online, illustrating the significant influence of this factor.   In terms of solutions, one essential approach would be teaching elder person to use phones and internet by local communities and their families, as supported by logical deductions that many old people are not be able to quickly learn fast-updated modern technology and then fail to use it. Recent reports from reputable sources validate that the study speed of old people are ten times slower than young teenager. Moreover, implementing financial support on internet fee and phone cost for them is crucial, founded on the idea that the income of elder people reduces much after retirement.   In conclusion, a thorough examination of this phenomenon reveals its main benefit is that it can relieve the loneliness of elder person, and it can be effectively addressed through teaching them how to use phones and internet, as well as financial support on the relevent costs.