People who decide on a career path early in their lives and keep to it are more likely to have a satisfying working life than those who change jobs frequently. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some believe that choosing and pursuing a sole career from early years can bring more satisfactory work experience as compared to having multiple job changes. I personally disagree with this statement to a large degree, given my knowledge and what I see and hear in the modern society. First of all, we are living in a time that is full of uncertainty, as seen by the changes in all walks of life, which are made more complicated by the rise of modern technology such as the internet. A person who is determined to make a living of stability is most likely to be let down, because of the impossibility of sticking to one field without gaining skills and interdisciplinary expertise. Those who develop in multiple areas, however, may be more financially well off thanks to their ability to grasp different opportunities and make connections in distinct fields. For example, a real estate salesman who was quite well off 10 years ago in the Chinese market, would be better off if he chose to become salesman a live-streaming 10 years later, since the latter has grown much more lucrative than the former. Apart from potential financial benefits, being open to change and flexibility in career choice can also bring more vitality and vigour, contributing to building a more holistic character. As the saying goes, ‘Life is more of a wilderness than a track’. People who have background in different careers are more flexible, adaptable, and resilient, whereas those who are stuck in a single job tend to be more paranoid and workaholic, being fearful of the unpredictable consequences that change may bring. Some careers, such as therapist and HR, are likely people who undergo a shift in profession, as these jobs require accumulation of insight from a variety of knowledge and experiences. Hence, it is clear that in a modern society that lack certainty and stability, remaining open to changes in career plans is beneficial for a person both financially and mentally.