For a long time art has been considered an essential part of all cultures in the world. However, nowadays people’s values have changed, and we tend to consider science, technology and business more important than arts. What do you think are the causes of this? What can be done to draw people’s attention to art?

Art plays a fundamental role in society as artists are able to express their thoughts and their culture in their work. From past so many years it has been an integral part of the cultures around the globe. In contrast, these days values of the people have shifted towards science, technology and business as we consider them to be more important for various reasons. In the upcoming paragraphs, I will shed light on the reasons responsible for this along with the steps which should be undertaken by government and masses to tackle it. At the outset, rise in both financial demands of people and digital entertainment are the two main causes for the people to choose other fields over arts. Firstly, financial pressures leading people to focus more on practical careers. Due to rise in needs of people, many are opting other professions to secure a job to meet the demands of their families. Along with this, having a professional job have other benefits, such as maternaty leaves, holidays, and sick leaves, which are paid by the employers and it is very unlikely when it comes to art professions. Secondly, changes in lesiure activities with rise of digital entertainment is another cause of people not preferring arts. In the earlier days, vast majority of individuals use to spend their time learning different forms of art as a hobbie, but these days almost every single person have access to mobile phones and internet to keep them occupied with digital media. Thus, shift in job priorities and changes of hobbies due to advancement of technology are the reasons for people to prefer various careers rather than arts. Meanwhile, there are few things that can be done to attract the attention of people towards arts, namely education of arts as well as promoting the benefits of art. First and foremost, arts education could be made more accessible and integrated into school curricula to encourage young minds to take up career in arts. A lot of parents who comes from low socioeconomic backgrounds do not encourage arts for their kids to learn as it requires them to hire a tutor which can be expensive. Therefore, the government can implement rule to reduce the school fee to make it more accessible to children from all backgrounds. In addition, news channels and advertisements on bill boards or internet shall promote the benefits of arts to grab the attention of audience. For example, well known celebrities who have large fan following can advertise the advantages of arts like creativity and emotional intelligence. This can lead them to follow the path for their role models. As a result, teaching young minds about arts and the positives of the arts can minimise the causes of the issue. To encapsulate, increasing priorities towards securing a job and rapid technology advancements for entertainment are causing the people to not prefer arts. The education of arts along with advertising the pros of arts can mitigate the causes.