In the last decade, there has been a great increase in global air travel. What do you think are the reasons for this and do you think it is a good thing? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Over the last 10 years, the use of airplanes as mean of transport for travelling has considerably grown. There are various factors for this rise and this essay will try to expose them. First of all, the tourism demands have significantly risen. People are keen to go to foreign destinations, which are often far away, for their holidays to discover new and different landscape and to enjoy pleasant climates. Therefore, they need to travel by air to get more rapidly to the destination, while using train, boat or driving will dramatically lengthens the duration of moving as travellers have generaly restricted amount of time for holidays. For exemple, inhabitants of Nothern country in the winter like to travel in warm countries to get tanned and to avoid the icy temperatures and they go to Maldives Islands for instance. Using cars or trains is impossible to reach this destination so air travel is the only way of getting on this island. Secondly, low cost companies often offer attractive prices. For instance, an ticket for Barcelona might twice cheaper than travelling by train. Consequently, this encourages people to take planes as method of transport. I tend to think that this increase is desastrous for airpollution. Indeed, airplanes are important carbon dioxide emitters and they contribute greatly to global warming. Moreoever, it has an impact on mass tourism and thereferore destruction of habitats and pollution of cities. In conclusion, the high demand on tourism and low prices contribute of using planes. However, it can't continue increasing as it has negativ effects on climate and we need to encourage sustenaible method of transports as train or buses.