Nowadays an increasing number of people change their careers during their work life period. What are the reasons behind this trend? Is it a generally positive or negative development?

In recent times individuals making changes in their occupation while still in active service have increased due to the fact of the quest to earn better pay check, on the contrary this move has fewer benefits and more drawbacks as individuals might lack adequate skill in the new profession. These days individuals are moving from one occupation to another owing to the fact that of earning a better pay. In other words, people leave less lucrative ones, and they take up that which will fetch them more funds. This is done in other that they meet their financial obligations. For instance, my cousin, who read English education in the university, switched to information technology in light of the fact that the pay is more, thus, abandoning his certificate in English education. Therefore, the quest to earn more money could make one leave one career path for another. Nevertheless, this changing occupation trend generally has more downsides than upsides. This is owing to the fact that people do not have abundance knowledge in the field, and it could hinder their efficiency. Meaning individuals would have to learn on the job to become efficient. For example, an individual who studied Arts at the university, but decides to take up a job in a bank because of better pay would ought to start learning the process involved in banking, and this can impair productivity. consequently, the drawbacks of changing career are more than the benefits. In conclusion, the quest to earn more money propels people to change their career paths whilst in active service. On yje whole it seems that the drawback aspects of this trend overweighs the beneficial ones, as these individuals understand little or nothing about the profession they are venturing into.